What I Need From My Beauty Brands

Hey everyone! I’ve got a video up today featuring the products I’m all out of so if you’d like to give that a view just scroll on down! If you’re here for a little read I thought I’d take a minute to talk about what I need from my beauty brands.

IMG_1716.JPG

Commitment to the environment 

I want to use my dollar to “vote” for businesses who are behaving responsibly. I don’t want anything to do with companies who degrade the planet and squander our resources with reckless abandon. I mean who would?

Ingredient policy

Consumers are clueing in to the fact that our beloved beauty brands are often packed with harmful chemicals. What’s even worse is the manufacturers are aware and unfortunately don’t care as much as they should. If you came to my house for dinner and I fed you a meal I suspected would cause cancer, I would be in big trouble. I seek out brands that use natural ingredients, not just because I don’t want cancer, but also because of that “vote with your dollar” thing. I prefer to vote for the good guys.

Cruelty free

Ever since I was a kid I knew I didn’t want to support brands that do animal testing. It just isn’t necessary and it makes me a little sick to my stomach. I’ve tightened my parameters up even more lately now that I’ve learned the difference between “cruelty free” and “not tested on animals.”

“Not tested on animals” means that the product was not tested on animals. Sounds good until you do a little digging. Unfortunately, individual ingredients may have been used in animal testing.

Brand X does not conduct animal testing” sounds even better, but wait. This means there’s a chance they outsource their animal testing to companies who do.

So what’s a girl to do?

Well you can research into the brand to see what they really mean when they use statements like the ones above OR you can skip the research by going cruelty free.

“Cruelty free” means the brand does no animal testing and furthermore, no business is conducted with companies who do. Yay! My favourite.

It’s not always black and white though. For example, Pureology is a cruelty free brand but it is owned by L’Oreal, who does conduct animal testing in other areas. This one’s tough for me but I choose to buy from Pureology because I think it’s useful to demonstrate to parent companies that there is a strong consumer demand for cruelty free, vegan, and environmentally responsible products (Pureology checks all these boxes. I want more of that!) It is my hope that L’Oreal (and other parent companies) begin a transition into these more responsible business practices. After all, they have a unique opportunity to make some of the biggest impacts in the industry, for better or worse.

https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/bridgette-decoste-18457047

Leave a Reply

