The Importance Of Getting Out In Winter

Anyone who knows me would be surprised to read that headline. I like bright sun, hot sand, and a tan. Oh how I miss a tan in the winter! Unfortunately for me I live in Nova Scotia which means the majority of the year is dreary and cold. Thank you, your sympathy is appreciated. We’ve been super lucky so far this year buuut I’m writing this in a storm and the hail outside is being blown against my balcony rail with so much force the metal is vibrating and emitting a strange, continuous, echoey reverberating hum. Our luck may have run out.

Even so, I’ve found that the best way for me to cope with the weather is to get out in it. I’m not saying go winter camping. Just a 20 minute walk does the trick.

img_1724

Even though I keep it short and even though I usually grumble through it, it works wonders. The combination of fresh air, light activity, and a change of scenery is a great way to get me out of a funk. I also feel a little better about spending the rest of the evening buried under blankets, binge-watching Netflix, drinking hot cocoa. Cause you know, I earned it. 

Now if you don’t mind, I have some cocoa to stir.

Leave a Reply

