What I’ve Noticed About Learning Again

This time last year I had just finished my last semester at Dalhousie University. I graduated with a double major in environmental sustainability and sociology. Woohoo! When I began my degree I was swept up in the joy of learning, maybe for the first time since I was a little kid. It was awesome and I was tireless for a long time. In hindsight maybe I should have paced myself a bit. As the years passed I lost some of my steam and by the end of the degree I felt well and truly burnt out.

I was a little lost for a while but I decided to make the most out of the new year. I’d been intrigued by blogging and vlogging as a career for several years and I decided to make 2017 the year I gave it a shot. And here we are!

img_1732

The road has been littered with late nights, strained eyes, countless photos that, try as I might, just don’t look bloggy, and all the wrong technology. iPhone and iPad, with this blog I thee wed. 

img_1734

Not to mention my skill set doesn’t exactly make me the best candidate for the job. I’d never filmed a video before, much less edited one. Oh and I could use help with my hair too.

img_1733

Amazingly though, that excitement for learning I experienced in the beginning of my degree has been coming back to me! I started this process on New Year’s Day and I’ve been faced with an incredibly steep learning curve every step of the way. However, challenging myself to learn at a faster rate than is comfortable has been a thrill and every small success brings huge satisfaction.

The most incredible thing so far has been all the support from my friends and family. I think they can tell how excited I am all the time about this crazy new project of mine and they’re happy that I’m happy. Thank goodness for that! Plus, I’ve been offered so much help it’s amazing! I’ve teamed up with my good friend Erin to up my game big time with beautiful images for the blog. I can’t wait to show you guys the content we have planned for next week!

img_1731

 

 

Leave a Reply

