The Best Motivational Book Ever

I was given this book for Christmas by my brother’s wonderful girlfriend, Emily. Shoutout, Emily! I don’t know if she could have known at the time but I was stuck in a rut and this really was the best. gift. ever.

In the Company of Women” by Grace Bonney is a collection of interviews with over 100 “makers, artists, and entrepreneurs.” It’s got the perfect sort of information to make an impact. Who doesn’t love impactful reading, amirite? They share their inspiration and struggles, the tough lessons they’ve learned, and what drives them to continue creating, among other things.

img_0859

Aside from the stunning photography and thoughtful, genuine interviews, my absolute favourite part is that each artist is featured in her own workspace. They are so interesting and unique. It really brings the subjects to life and I could spend ages looking over every detail. It really is beautiful.

img_0861

Reading about the commitment of each artist was probably the most impactful for me. See, I promised there’d be impact. Especially because I first began reading this during a rut. It became so clear to me that what I had in my life at the time was not igniting the same sort of passionate fire these women had for their work. I realized I wanted that!

At the suggestion of Jen Sincero in “You Are a Badass,” (A book I would also recommend) I pulled long forgotten interests from the recesses of my mind and I settled on starting this blog. I hoped it would help me move out of the rut and (best case scenario) point me to some passion of my own.

img_0862

I think it’s too soon to tell if the blog is going to be it for me but I will say it has made all the difference. Yay! This and my YouTube channel have been so difficult in so many ways and every time I make another video or write another post I feel a sense of accomplishment. It’s nice!

Caught up at the time by what everyone else thought of me, none of this would have happened if I hadn’t gotten this book and found this quote:

“It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion;

it is easy in solitude to live after our own;

but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd

keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude”

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

img_0860

Photos by Erin Bulger

Shop the post:

In the Company of Women

You Are a Badass

Shirt: Forever 21

Faux fur pillow

https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/bridgette-decoste-18457047

Leave a Reply

