DIY Shampoo

IMG_1035.PNG

So I ran out of shampoo. And for some reason I got it into my head I wanted to try making my own. I don’t know why I do these things. I went to the internet for a recipe and discrovered there are a lot. I went for something incredibly simple.

IMG_1030

Just two ingredients: Dr Bronner’s Castile soap and coconut milk.

It’s a simple matter of whisking equal parts of each and storing them in a jar or container. It keeps for up to a month in your shower and whipping up a new batch is a breeze!

IMG_1032

I waited until I had tested it out for a few weeks before I decided to share this with you guys. I have to say I love this stuff. It lathers beautifully, smells great, and leaves my hair squeaky clean. My old natural beachy waves have come back (after frying my hair platinum blonde) and my bank account is grateful too. It also doubles as my shaving cream now… but just legs. It isn’t quite comfortable enough for the more sensitive areas like underarms and lady bits. 

IMG_1034

Tyler has also been loving it but he said it made his hair feel a little coarse. I reported this to my hairstylist pal and she suggested a cold water rinse or even an apple cider vinegar rinse. Apparently, washing opens the cuticle of your hair and cold water or something acidic will close it, leaving your hair softer and more protected from damage. A little tip for free! 

I follow it up with my Purology 21 Spray to condition my hair and make brushing easier. Let me know if you try this out, I’d love to hear about your experience!

 

Never miss a post! Follow me on Bloglovin’

Photos by Erin Bulger

Leave a Reply

