Meal Prep: I only do it a little

I’m sure you’ve heard about the awesomeness of meal prep. “Meal prep Sundays,” “stash days,” and “weekly meal plans” are all common phrases. But here’s the thing: it is a pain in the butt.

Yes when I’ve done a solid meal prep I’m glad I did. It makes my life easier and I even save some money. Unfortunately I have an erratic schedule. If you are always free on Sundays, you are one fortunate soul. If I work on Sunday or I’ve got a headache on a “stash day” I’m in trouble. Because if you’ve got a “meal prep” kinda kitchen, chances are you don’t have much around when you’ve dropped the meal prep ball.

This is where my half prep comes in handy!

IMG_1040.PNG

On Sunday or Monday, whenever I have some time, I like to prep a a few things to make meals a little easier. I eat a lot of bananas so I slice and freeze them, usually 4 or 5 bunches at a time. Now I can reach into the freezer all week and grab pre-sliced frozen bananas for “nice cream” and smoothies. Easy, healthy, done.

IMG_1041

IMG_1037

I also like to have some snacks handy for between meals and for Tyler’s lunches. Carrot sticks and hummus are great but I’m not gonna peel and chop carrots when I’m hungry. I’d rather reach for the baked goods I was supposed to be saving and Tyler finds himself at Subway again.

IMG_1038

But if I have some hummus and some peeled and chopped carrots ready to go, I can munch away happily. I also like to have celery and broccoli too.

IMG_1039

If I have another hour to spare I’ll do up something else like energy balls, soup, or a cold salad. Overall I find this less structured “half prep” system works better for me because I can fit it into my schedule more easily and I still have plenty of options all week.

 

Photos by Erin Bulger

Never miss a post! Follow me on Bloglovin

 

Leave a Reply

